Wednesday: A Mix of East and West

20121114-133011.jpg

ㆍ돈육김치덮밥ㆍ얼갈이된장국ㆍ떡꼬치ㆍ감자샐러드파이ㆍ동치미

Oh my gosh! Potato Pie? Duenjang-guk? Pork and Kimchi Dopbap? I’m in heaven! This lunch was far superior to others this week and I got so excited, I got doubles of everything! (In hindsight, probably not a good idea~)

돈육김치덮밥: Pork and Kimchi Dopbap: The main dish is comprised of pork and kimchi that has been stir fried and is best eaten over rice. I find that when kimchi is stir fried, it has a less spicy but deeper flavor than its cold counterpart.
얼갈이된장국: Winter Cabbage Soup: When I first came to Korea, I didn’t like this soup much. It has miso in it, and can be a little stinky, but it is so delicious! It has definitely grown on me. [얼갈 (Uhl-gal) is a type of winter kimchi and is used in substitution of normal kimchi while it ferments.]
떡꼬치: Tteokgochi: This is a chewy rice cake snack that has been deep fried and served with chili sauce!
감자샐러드파이: Gamja (Potato) Salad Pie: Imagine potato salad. Now imagine it in a pie crust. I’m drooling just thinking about it! (Linked is a beautiful photo blog!)
동치미: Dongchimi (Pickled Radish): They say that vinegar is very good for your health and you should have about a teaspoon every day. Dongchimi is a great food for that since the radish absorbs the vinegar and has a nice crunch. I like the water the best, and I tried the pepper, but it was too sour for me.

I give today’s lunch a 5맛/5! It was amazing! Great side dishes (not really great nutrition), and perfect mix of flavor and texture. Thanks, lunch ladies! ^^

*Don’t forget to post your lunch over at Eat Your Lunch-ee. We will choose the best and worst on Friday night and announce the winner and loser on Saturday!*

Leave a Reply

