Friday: Duck Salad and Fried Eggplant

20121116-130739.jpg

Today’s lunch was so delicious, I had to go back for more! Duck is one of the few meats I really enjoy because it can be so lean and delicious. Honestly, I still find pork meat to be a little on the near-revolting side of meat choices.

돼지갈비감자탕: Dweji Galbi Gamja Tang (Pork and Potato Stew): The stew was delicious, but the meat itself was cut into very big chunks which could not be eaten easily with chopsticks. Other than that, this was very wholesome and great for a chilly day (and chilly cafeteria).
오리훈제야채무침: Ori Hunje Yache Muchim (Duck and Vegetable Salad): WOW! This was easily the best duck dish we’ve had at the school. Cabbage, lettuce, and carrots made this little side dish quite the entree! The salad is mixed up in a wasabi sauce that can really pack a punch!
가지호박볶음: Gaji Hobak Bokkeum (Fried Eggplant): This was an incredible side dish of eggplant fried up in sesame oil, soy sauce, sesame seeds, onion, and cucumber. I had to get seconds. It literally melted in my mouth. I’m going to try and figure out how to make this on my own (see link!)
ㆍ깍두기: Gak Dogi (Radish Kimchi): This is your run-of-the-mill radish kimchi, and only photographed for your sake. ;) I can’t eat the stuff…it gives me heartburn (and I’m still in my mid-20’s!).

Today’s lunch was a great end to the week – quite possibly the best lunch week we’ve ever had! 5맛/5!

Please continue to send in your submissions to the Eat Your Lunch-ee Group. Tomorrow the best and worst will be announced!

Leave a Reply

